Friday, March 1, 2024
HomeDanceThe Dance Information You Would possibly Have Neglected in Would possibly 2023

The Dance Information You Would possibly Have Neglected in Would possibly 2023

Listed below are the most recent promotions, appointments, and departures, in addition to notable awards and accomplishments, from Would possibly 2023.

Comings & Goings

Courtney Beck has been named government director of Alonzo King LINES Ballet, succeeding cofounder Robert Rosenwasser, who stays as inventive director.

Chicago Dance Historical past Challenge creative and government director Jenai Cutcher has departed to enroll in GroundWorks DanceTheater as government director.

Stephanie Pacheco has been named government director of The Backyard, starting June 9.

Thom Dancy will be triumphant Jena C. Woodbury as government director of Ririe-Woodbury Dance Corporate on June 19.

David Grey has been named the following government director of Kansas Town Ballet, succeeding Jeffrey J. Bentley as of July 1.

Anna Williams will step down as leader working officer of Birmingham Royal Ballet in overdue summer time. Her position is being break up into two, with Christopher Rodriguez becoming a member of as director of finance and sources on the finish of June.

Natasha Adorlee, Daniel Randall Durrett, and Lorris Eichinger had been named to Ballet22’s newly shaped creative advisory committee. Cofounder Roberto Vega Ortiz has departed to pursue different efficiency alternatives.

At Philadelphia Ballet, Ashton Roxander has been promoted to important, efficient initially of the 2023–24 season.

At Pittsburgh Ballet Theatre, starting initially of the 2023–24 season, Tommie Lin O’Hanlon has been promoted to important, Grace Rookstool to soloist. Gustavo Ribeiro has joined as a soloist from Miami Town Ballet.

Marco Corcella will sign up for Oklahoma Town Ballet as a important initially of its 2023–24 season. Alejandro González and Mayu Odaka will probably be promoted to important, Randolph Fernandez, Joseph Hetzer, and Gabrielle Mengden to soloist.

At Ballet de l’Opéra Nationwide de Bordeaux, Riku Ota has been promoted to étoile. San Francisco Ballet important Mathilde Froustey will sign up for as an étoile this summer time.

Dores André and Max Cauthorn have joined Ballett Zürich from San Francisco Ballet. SFB soloist Lucas Erni has departed the corporate; Hansuke Yamamoto has retired.

Dinu Tamazlacaru, Iana Balova, Marian Walter, Evelina Godunova, Daniil Simkin, Yevgeniy Kissamutdinov, and Aya Okumura will leave Staatsballett Berlin on the finish of the season.

Nationwide Ballet of Canada important persona artist Alejandra Perez-Gomez will retire on the finish of the 2022–23 season. Her ultimate efficiency is scheduled for June 25.

Competition Ballet Windfall has rebranded as Ballet Rhode Island.

Awards & Honors

Winners on the 2023 Chita Rivera Awards had been Steven Hoggett (Remarkable Choreography in a Broadway Display, A Stunning Noise: The Neil Diamond Musical), Robyn Hurder, Jess LeProtto, and Mattie Love (Remarkable Dancer in a Broadway Display, Hurder and LeProtto for A Stunning Noise and Love for Bob Fosse’s DANCIN’), the casts of Bob Fosse’s DANCIN’ and New York, New York (Remarkable Ensemble in a Broadway Display), Gaby Diaz and Ryan Steele (Remarkable Dancers in an Off-Broadway Display, Best Gold), Andy Blankenbuehler (Remarkable Choreography in an Off-Broadway Display, Best Gold), Jamal Sims (Choreography in Movie, 13: The Musical), and Dan Watt (Remarkable Route of a Documentary Liberate, Everyone Dance). Jeffrey L. Web page won the Douglas and Ethel Watt Critics’ Selection Award for his paintings on 1776. John Kander won the Lifetime Success Award. BroadwayHD, based by means of Bonnie Comley and Stewart F. Lane, won the Ambassadors For The Arts Award.

Casey Nicholaw won the 2023 Drama Table Award for Remarkable Choreography for Some Like It Scorching, which additionally gained Remarkable Musical. Forged participants J. Harrison Ghee and Kevin Del Aguila gained Remarkable Lead Efficiency in a Musical and Remarkable Featured Efficiency in a Musical, respectively.

Victor Abreu (New York Town Ballet) and Lorna Courtney (Broadway’s & Juliet) won Clive Barnes Awards for Dance and Theatre, which incorporates a $5,000 unrestricted money award.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments